Skip to content
September 11, 2013 / ivytechartspartner

John Hiatt, Michael Feinstein among those to perform at the 2013 Governor’s Arts Awards

(Indianapolis, Indiana) – The Indiana Arts Commission (IAC) announced today that renowned musicians John Hiatt and Michael Feinstein will be among four special musical performances planned for the September 26 awards ceremony.

“Traditionally, the awards program has strived to highlight the talents of recipients who are performing artists,” said IAC Executive Director Lewis C. Ricci. “Such artists as Angela Brown, Sylvia McNair, Menahem Pressler, and the Indianapolis Children’s Choir have previously graced the stage and added to the spectacle of this event. We are so honored.”

In addition to these performers, the Not So Bad Bluegrass Band, and a choir from Arsenal Technical High School will be performing.

The 2013 Governor’s Arts Awards will be held September 26, 2013 at the Palladium on the campus of the Center for the Performing Arts in Carmel. The program will honor the achievements and contributions of:

Christel DeHaan, philanthropist, Indianapolis, IN
Cynthia Hartshorn, music educator, vocalist, Indianapolis, IN
John Hiatt, singer, songwriter, Nashville, TN
Mark Kruzan, mayor, Bloomington, IN
Sydney Pollack, producer, director, actor, Los Angeles, CA (posthumous)
Traditional Arts Indiana, arts organization, Bloomington, IN

Preceding the awards ceremony there will be a progressive dinner at the Renaissance Indianapolis North Hotel in Carmel. Both the dinner and awards performance program will be hosted by Governor Mike Pence and First Lady Karen Pence, Honorary Chair of the 2013 Governor’s Arts Awards.

Award ceremony tickets are $20 for adults and $10 for students and full evening packages start at $90 per person. For more information and to reserve your tickets, visit:

Originally conceived in 1973, the Governor’s Arts Awards biennially recognizes outstanding achievement in and contributions to the arts. Previous recipients have included visual artist and sculptor Robert Indiana, novelist Kurt Vonnegut, Jr., actor Karl Malden, vocalist Crystal Gayle, and songwriters Cole Porter and Hoagy Carmichael.

The Indiana Arts Commission is dedicated to the vision of the arts everywhere, everyday, for everyone in Indiana.

%d bloggers like this: