Skip to content
August 15, 2013 / ivytechartspartner

First Lady Karen Pence to serve as Honorary Chair for the 2013 Governor’s Arts Awards

(Indianapolis, Indiana) – The Indiana Arts Commission (IAC) announced today that Indiana First Lady Karen Pence will serve as honorary chair for the 2013 Indiana Governor’s Arts Awards.

“Mike and I are looking forward to hosting the 2013 Governor’s Arts Awards, and working with the Indiana Arts Commission to recognize outstanding contributions to the arts that reflect positively on our state,” First Lady Karen Pence said. “As many people know, the arts mean a great deal to me personally, but even more importantly Mike and I realize the significant impact the arts have in our state. To be sure, the arts enhance our quality of life, but they also contribute to further economic development, tourism, and excellence in education which make Indiana a great place to live and work.”

The 2013 Governor’s Arts Awards will be held September 26, 2013 at the Carmel Center for the Performing Arts. The program will honor the achievements and contributions of:

Christel DeHaan, philanthropist, Indianapolis, IN

Cynthia Hartshorn, music educator, vocalist, Indianapolis, IN

John Hiatt, singer, songwriter, Nashville, TN

Mark Kruzan, mayor, Bloomington, IN

Sydney Pollack, producer, director, actor, Los Angeles, CA (posthumous)

Traditional Arts Indiana, arts organization, Bloomington, IN

 Preceding the awards program there will be an awards dinner at the Renaissance Center hotel and conference center in Carmel.

In addition to acting as honorary chair for the event, the First Lady has graciously agreed to paint a watercolor rendering of the Center for the Performing Arts. The painting will be on display at the Palladium the evening of the award program.

“We are extremely honored to have the First Lady involved in the state’s highest honor awarded in the arts,” said IAC Executive Director Lewis C. Ricci. “The fact that she, herself, is a talented visual artist and educator only emphasizes the significance the arts have in our state.”

Award ceremony tickets are $20 for adults and $10 for students and full evening packages start at $90 per person. For more information and to reserve your tickets, visit:

The 2013 Governor’s Arts Awards mark the 40th anniversary of the event, and the fourth time the governor and the IAC host the awards outside the city of Indianapolis.

Originally conceived in 1973, the Governor’s Arts Awards biennially recognizes outstanding achievement in and contributions to the arts. Previous recipients have included visual artist and sculptor Robert Indiana, novelist Kurt Vonnegut, Jr., actor Karl Malden, vocalist Crystal Gayle, and songwriters Cole Porter and Hoagy Carmichael.

The Indiana Arts Commission is dedicated to the vision of the arts everywhere, everyday, for everyone in Indiana.



%d bloggers like this: