Skip to content
February 13, 2013 / ivytechartspartner

Students from 25 Indiana schools to take part in state Poetry Out Loud finals

(Indianapolis, Indiana) – The Indiana Arts Commission (IAC) announced today that 25 Indiana schools will send participants to the annual Poetry Out Loud Indiana State Finals, February 23, at the Indianapolis-Marion County Public Library, Central Branch, 40 E. St. Claire St., Indianapolis. This is the largest number of entries in the history of the event. Competition begins at 11:00 a.m.

Indiana high schools scheduled to participate include:

Anderson Preparatory Academy                    Anderson, IN

Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School                Indianapolis, IN

Broad Ripple Magnet High School                 Indianapolis, IN

Canterbury School                                       Fort Wayne, IN

Carmel High School                                      Carmel, IN

Columbus Christian School                           Columbus, IN

Columbus Signature Academy – New Tech   Columbus, IN

Columbia City High School                           Columbia City, IN

Eastern Greene High School                         Bloomfield, IN

Floyd Central High School                            Floyds Knobs, IN

Forest Park Jr. Sr. High School                     Ferdinand, IN

Homestead High School                               Fort Wayne, IN

La Lumiere School                                        La Porte, IN

Lawrence North High School                         Indianapolis, IN

Madison Consolidated High School               Madison, IN

Pike High School                                          Indianapolis, IN

Pinnacle School                                            Bloomington, IN

Plymouth High School                                  Plymouth, IN

Scottsburg New Tech High School                Scottsburg, IN

Signature High School                                 Evansville, IN

Speedway High School                                 Speedway, IN

Warren Central High School                         Indianapolis, IN

Warsaw Community High School                  Warsaw, IN

West Noble High School                               Ligonier, IN

West Washington High School                     Campbellsburg, IN


“This is the largest number of schools we have ever had participate in Poetry Out Loud,” said Susan Britsch, IAC’s Poetry Out Loud project coordinator. “The entries represent schools from rural areas as well as cities, and a good mix of first time participating schools and repeat entrants.”

The state champion receives a $200 cash prize and an all-expenses paid trip to Washington, D.C. to compete in the Poetry Out Loud National Finals in late April. The state champion’s school receives a $500 stipend to purchase poetry books.

The winner of the state championship will represent Indiana at the 2012/2013 Poetry Out Loud National Finals. Jordan Mather-Licht, Broad Ripple High School, Indianapolis, was the 2011/2012 Indiana State Champion.

A total of $50,000 in scholarship awards and school stipends will be awarded at the Poetry Out Loud National Finals, with a $20,000 college scholarship awarded to the national champion.

Launched in 2006, the annual poetry recitation contest is sponsored by the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) and the Poetry Foundation, and is open to any Indiana high school. Participating high schools conduct initial competitions to determine one student to represent the school at the state finals.

The Poetry Out Loud program is designed to encourage youth to learn about great poetry through memorization and performance, and help students master public speaking skills, build self-esteem, and internalize an appreciation for American literary heritage.

On behalf of the people of Indiana, the Indiana Arts Commission is committed to the vision of the arts everywhere, every day, for everyone in Indiana.




%d bloggers like this: